Koukamma Municipality

Koukamma Municiplality is a local municipality in South Africa. It is situated in the Cacadu District Municipality alongside the Indian Ocean coastline, in the southwestern area of the Eastern Cape Province. The Western Cape Province is not far to the West. Kou-Kamma neighbors the Baviaans Local Municipality in the North and the Kouga Local Municipality to the East.

Koukamma Municipality is a relatively poor area which reports high unemployment and low levels of literacy. Settlements are scattered and far from each other, which pose challenges to the development of infrastructure and basic services such as water, sewage, electricity and sanitation.

Koukamma Municipality includes Two Diverse Regions:

1. The Coastal Belt

This is where you will find the well known  Tsitsikamma area, which includes settlements such as Storms River, Coldstream  and Clarkson.

2. The Langkloof Area

The towns of Kareedouw, Joubertina and Louterwater lies in the beautiful Langkloof, surrounded by the Tsitsikamma Mountains.

The two areas are separated by the Tsitsikamma Mountains.

Villages and settlements

The administrative centre for the Koukamma Municipality is Kareedouw and approximately 11% of the total population lives here. Joubertina, Ravinia and Tweeriviere accommodates another 11% of the total population and is considered the commercial centre of Kou-Kamma. Other settlements within the Kou-Kamma Municipality include: Nomphumelelo/Sandrif, Coldstream, Thornham, Woodlands, Clarkson, the Mfengu Farms, Eersterivier, Misgund, Louterwater, Krakeelrivier, Kwaaibrand, Koomansbos, Goesa, Witelsbos and Boskor.

These settlements are divided into 5 electoral wards and are governed by a 10-member council.


Stormsriver is the primary tourism centre within the Koukamma Municipality.  The Coastal area is characterised by a diverse and fast-growing economy driven by tourism and agriculture, a fast-growing population linked to the economic opportunities, a good water supply, and a wealth of holiday destinations and indigenous forests.

Stormsriver Mouth in Koukamma Municipality

Awesome waves at Stormsriver Mouth

Lankloof valley the apple basket of SA